Review–Arbonne FC5 Skincare Range

I had this range on trial for just under a week and for the time that I had it I have to say that I’ve loved using the FC5 range.

Arbonne is a company that goes by the slogan ‘Pure. Safe. Beneficial’ and it claims to do just that; Pure – referring to the ingredients and a long list of things it doesn’t contain; Safe – claims to not irritate the skin on use; and Beneficial – that the product will actually make a difference to your skin’s appearance. Arbonne can only be purchased through Arbonne consultants (kinda like Avon); they sell through network marketing, or online from their website.

So I tried 4 items; all from the FC5 Range;

  1. The Purifying Cleanser + Toner (£19 for 118ml)
  2. The Oil-Absorbing Day Lotion with SPF 20 (£31 for 50ml)
  3. The Exfoliating New Cell Scrub (£23 for 118ml)
  4. The Hydrating Eye Crème (£26 for 15ml)

Arbonne FC5 Range

Their pricing is comparable to that of Clinique and Clarins, and so not normally brands that I would reach for on a monthly basis (otherwise I’d have no money left) but seeing as my friend from Church, an Arbonne consultant, offered to let me try some things to review, I jumped at the opportunity. And if I’m being honest, I wasn’t expecting amazing results – I don’t know why, but maybe it has something to do with being let down many times by those slightly more expensive brands mentioned earlier…

Arbonne Purifying Cleanser and Toner (£19)

Arbonne Purifying Cleanser and TonerI’m not really sure how to start of this little mini-review for this product because I’ve never really been sure how to define whether a cleanser is better than another, apart from whether it’s worked or not, and cleansers and I have never had a great relationship to start of with.

By my definition a cleanser works if it cleans my skin thoroughly – as in there shouldn’t be any makeup left on my skin and there should be some form of visible difference – and it shouldn’t be drying afterwards, as so many cleansers do. I currently use the Neutrogena 2 in 1 Wash/Mask and that does the job for me, albeit I get through it quite quickly and it isn’t mega affective at getting rid of blemishes.

When I looked at this cleanser’s formula I wasn’t really expecting much – it just looked like a bog-standard cleanser. Oh, how wrong I was. It lathers up nicely (but not enough so that it ends up being too difficult to splash off with water), I can see a visible difference before and after – what’s happened to my pores – they seemed to have shrunk?! And it doesn’t leave a drying effect, it retains the moisture of my skin.

Verdict = Love it!

Now this cleanser is for oily/combination skin so it works for me perfectly and I have to admit I’ve kinda been craving it since I gave it back after my sample trial was over. I noticed just how much clearer and cleaner my skin has been since using it and it definitely has been keeping the spots away…

Arbonne Oil-Absorbing Day Lotion with SPF 20 (£31)

Arbonne Oil-absorbing LotionLike the Purifying Cleanser and Toner this is specifically targeted for those with oily to combination skin as they both contain a specified formula, which Arbonne refers to as Matte Fresh Complex to ‘combat unwanted oil’.

The way this product feels when you apply it is wonderful; it’s moisturising but also mattifying at the same time, in a strange sort of way. It doesn’t leave you with a matte finish, but you can feel it and see it working throughout the day as it stops over-oil production.

I guess one of the real things about this that makes me love it so much is the effect it has on my application of foundation/tinted moisturisers. This has revolutionised the way I apply my Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturiser (the Oil Free version) that was such a nightmare to apply beforehand. Now it applies smoothly and gives a gorgeous dewy effect – the effect I was expecting. I also noticed a difference on the application of my BareMinerals Matt Foundation in the sense that it looked more flawless and less obvious on my skin – the powder blended in with my skin rather than just sitting on top.

Verdict = Love it!

The only downside to this product is it’s price – although I will be buying it, part of me doesn’t want to due to sheer amount that I will be forking out. However, it does contain 50ml of product, standard for most day creams, so I just hope that I’ll be able to use it sparingly, and seeing as you don’t need much for your whole face, I should be able to manage that.

Arbonne Exfoliating New Cell Scrub (£23)

Arbonne Exfoliating Cell ScrubAlthough I know you should exfoliate every now and again during the week, I’ve never really taken this step seriously – I’m just plain lazy really. Besides, for me, I just feel that scrubs are scrubs, as long as the granules aren’t scratchy or drying any scrub’ll do. Now that’s not to say that I don’t like Arbonne Scrub – I think it’s good. But for £23 it’s nothing special when I can use my Boots Botanics Purifying Face Scrub for Normal or Oily Skin which costs me £4.07 (75ml). Whist the Arbonne Scrub gives you 118ml of product, even if I bought two of the Botanics Scrub I’d still be saving money and get more product.

But having said that, the Arbonne Exfoliating New Cell Scrub does exfoliate my skin nicely and doesn’t leave a drying or tightening feeling on my skin afterwards. Also it’s for all skin types, so it’s a universal product.

Verdict = Like it.

I like it, but just not sure whether I prefer it over other scrubs that I’ve used.

Arbonne Hydrating Eye Crème (£26)

Arbonne Hydrating Eye CremeAs someone who doesn’t really reach for eye creams, mainly because I just don’t need them, I wasn’t initially unsure how relevant this product was for me, but I just have to say it; I really really like this product.

The only times I ever use an eye cream is when the area just under the corner of my eye gets really dry – funny place to get dry skin I know, but that’s what happens and this stuff is brilliant for rehydrating the under-eye area!

I don’t know how to describe how it feels other than almost like a gel and once my skin has sucked up the moisture it looks fresh and bright.

The only thing with this is that I can’t really justify buying this for myself as I don’t really need an eye cream. However, if you’re looking for a really good eye cream then look no further, the Arbonne Hydrating Eye Crème is superb! Yes, its £26 but I honestly think it’s worth it if you need a good eye cream.

Verdict = Love it!

I hope that this review was of some use; I was given these products to try out and follow up with a review, but I have tried to be as honest as possible and refuse to recommend a product that I wouldn’t consider re-purchasing, unless I’ve explained otherwise. Thank you ever so much to Andrea who so kindly let me try these products; I have thoroughly enjoyed using them, so thank you once again :).

One response to “Review–Arbonne FC5 Skincare Range

Leave a comment