Review: So Susan Universal Blush

So Susan Universal Blush 3

Another great find, courtesy of June’s Glossybox: So Susan Universal Blush. A blusher that is intended to suit all skin-tones due to it’s claim that it “works with your skin’s natural chemistry to create a universal healthy flush.” I’m not sure how true that is, but what I am sure of is that this looks great on my skin.

So Susan Universal Blush 2

Depending on what look I want to go for, applied heavy or light, I can rely on this blusher to give me a natural-looking flush; which means that I can’t really go wrong in how I apply it.

So Susan BlushSo Susan LightSo Susuan Closeup

Top to bottom: Out of the light, in the light (applied lightly), close-up in the light.

Pros:

  • Easy to apply, and very difficult to go wrong
  • Gorgeous colour: a shade somewhat like a mute version of Nars Orgasm Blush with subtle shimmer (although in pan it looks a lot).
  • Claims to be animal-cruelty free, hypoallergenic, fragrance-free and doesn’t contain mineral oils or phthalates (used to soften hard or brittle plastics which can cause health-concerns for pregnant women and young mothers).

Cons:

  • Quite costly at £17.95 for4g.
  • On top of that, it’s only available from So Susan’s website directly, so if you don’t live in the US it might be quite pricey to ship it over and then face duties, customs and taxes when it arrives.
  • Not sure how true it is that it adjusts to your skin-tone.
  • Despite being boxed in really cute packaging, the actual product is a little disappointing and cheap-looking.

Overall, I’m not sure I’d say I’m in love with So Susan’s Universal Blush. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a gorgeous blusher to wear when you want that rosy-cheeked look., but sometimes that’s not the look your going for. In contrast, I know that I can always rely on Benefit’s Dallas whenever I’m in doubt, so verdict for the day: Like it.

Leave a Reply

