Review: Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Glam Mascara (+ gLOSSYBOX)

For my birthday, which was earlier this month, my best friend got me a 3-month subscription to beauty-treat GlossyBox. So far I have received May and June beauty boxes (within one month, due to timings of ordering said present). For the month of May, GlossyBox seemed to be in partnership with Superdrug since it’s their 50th Anniversary this year.

GlossyBox

What was inside:

  • Full-size (12ml) Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Glam Masacara in Extreme Black
  • Full-size (100ml) Solait Illuminating Facial Bronzing Cream – Self Tan
  • Full-size (8ml) B. Complete Long-lasting Nail Polish in #178 Moleskin
  • Full-size (15ml) I love…Strawberries & Milkshake Shimmer & Shine Lip Gloss
  • Eylure Volume False Eyelashes – #107
  • 10ml Sample of Garnier Body Oil Beauty Lotion
  • 2ml Sample of Ghost Eclipse eau de toilette

Anyway, to the point of this review: Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Glam Mascara.ScandaleyesRetroGlam_PRODUCT

Image from Rimmel’s UK site, June 2014

I will be honest; I don’t normally wear mascara, well coloured mascara at least. It scares me due to the unfortunate effect it has on my eyelashes – hello spider legs; and I don’t particularly like spiders.

Nonetheless, seeing as I got this through GlossyBox, I thought I’d give it a go. I was pleasantly surprised, although I do still comb through it afterwards with some clear mascara (Natural Collection LashCare Mascara – Clear).

Standard photos of me wearing Rimmel’s Scandaleyes mascara (on top lashes only):

Close Up

Full face

Close Up 2

What else I’m wearing and tools used:

  • Rimmel Stay Matte Long Lasting Pressed Powder #003 Peach Glow (used sparsely)
  • MAC Studio Finish Concealer NC15
  • Sigma Large Powder Brush – F30
  • Benefit Dallas Face Powder
  • Natural Collection LashCare Mascara Clear
  • Real Techniques Shading Brush
  • EcoTools Bamboo Blush Brush
  • The Vintage Cosmetics Company Eyelash Curler to briefly curl my lashes before one coat of mascara

Apologies for the wild eyebrows. I’m far too lazy to do anything with them, besides pluck them everynow and again. They just grow so quickly, which I realise is nothing to complain to town about, but it means that, kind of like my hair, it’s not worth putting in extra effort for it only to be undone so shortly afterwards.

Back to the mascara though; I really liked it and for special occassions I think I would reach to this. Previously I had been using Benefit’s BADgal Lash mascara, but at over half-the price, Rimmel’s seems to be a no-brainer.

Pros:

  • Great brush: doesn’t pick up too much and you can easily get rid of extra product before application
  • Natural-looking, but also buildable depending on taste
  • Light on the eye-lashes. My lashes didn’t go hard  or stiff after applying a coat or two
  • Easy to remove with some eye make-up remove (I used Simple Kind to Eyes Make-up Remover)
  • You’re not going to be breaking the bank at £6.99 (Boots, Superdrug and Feelunique.com)

Cons:

  • Not waterproof – although didn’t smudge throughout the day
  • Is it a con that I can’t think of anymore cons?

Verdict = Like it. Whilst I would replace my Benefit Badgal Lash Mascara with Rimmel’s Scandaleyes Mascara, I don’t think I’ll be using it on a regular basis. At least, not enough to replace my clear mascara altogether. I’ll definitely be wearing this on special occasions though!

Available from: Boots, Superdrug and Feelunique.com @ £6.99 (+ £3 delivery), or £6.30 from Pharmacyfix.co.uk (Free delivery).

Leave a Reply

